​Global Public Sector Insights

In an effort to support the unique needs in the public sector, The IIA provides information tailored specifically to public sector internal auditors and their stakeholders.

This information is intended to further clarify the importance of the public sector audit activity to effective governance, and it defines the key elements needed to maximize the value that audit activity provides to all levels of the public sector.

“With strong representation from all parts of the globe, the Public Sector Committee is well positioned to contribute to the further development of the internal audit profession.

We are committed to providing helpful thought leadership and insights that address the peculiar needs of internal auditors, audit committees, legislators and other stakeholders in the public sector.”

Bruce Turner, Chairman IIA International Public Sector Committee
and Audit Committee Chairman in Austral

Public Sector Committee

The IIA’s Public Sector Committee (PSC) is a volunteer group focused on developing guidance to serve the needs of internal auditors in the public sector. In 2011, the PSC was moved under the oversight of the Professional Guidance Advisory Council, a group that also oversees the IIASB and PIC, providing a more formal and consistent development process.


The PSC’s role is to serve the public interest by:

  • Influencing and providing thought leadership and advice to The IIA and its international committees and Institutes on public sector auditing matters; and promoting the interests of The IIA’s public sector audit members.
  • Providing authoritative positions and comment on, or support matters relating to the public sector auditing profession.


Lars Agerberg ​Sweden
Ahadi Mutiba Chacha ​Tanzania
Scott Cohen ​USA
​Oliver Dieterle ​Germany
​Tuncay Efendioglu ​Switzerland
​Tea Enting-Beijering ​Netherlands
​Warren Hersh ​USA
​Himi Tina Kim ​USA
​Stephen Linden ​Australia
Elizabeth MacRae Canada
Gualter Ramalho Portella Brazil
Bruce Sloan Canada
Mmathabo Abigal Sukati​ South Africa​
Bruce Turner​ Australia​
​Claire Gomez-Miller ​Trinidad and Tobago
​Catherine Melvin ​USA
​Michael Ptasienski ​USA
​Lucy Kam Yang Wong ​Malaysia
​Toni Sage ​USA